The referee who officiated the final of the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, Szymon Marcinia, has said that he made a mistake in refereeing at the Lusial Stadium.
The Polish referee has been widely praised by football fans and professionals alike for his superb officiating in the latest match between Argentina and France, as Lionel Messi’s Argentina lifted the trophy after 120 minutes of stunning football, which ended in a penalty shoot-out. .
On Saturday, Marciniak admitted that his much-vaunted trade wasn’t completely flawless.
According to Express UK, the French media were criticized for letting Messi’s extra-time goal stand, as Argentina’s three substitutes broke FIFA rules by entering the pitch before the ball crossed the line.
Marciniak countered by posting a screenshot of seven France players standing on the pitch when Kylian Mbappe scored his equalizer later in the game.
While he handled the game’s big decisions brilliantly, he admits his performance was not entirely flawless.
“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport PL.
“I stopped the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.
“I was afraid that the player who committed the foul wanted to disconnect, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give them the advantage and then give them back with a card.
“It’s difficult. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The most important thing is that there are no big mistakes.’
Marciniak’s highlights included three penalties and France striker Marcus Thuram being booked for diving without consulting VAR.
Argentina beat France 4-2 on penalties to win the 2022 World Cup.
All rights reserved. This material and other digital content on this website may not be reproduced, published, transmitted, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without the prior written permission of PUNCH.
Contact: [email protected]